• The Secretariat

The Cursillo Secretariat is the group of leaders – priests and lay people – who orient, animate, and serve the Cursillo Movement. Leaders are presented by the council and appointed by the bishop,  The Secretariat:

  • Studies environments to be Christianised
  • Focuses the efforts of Cursillo leaders to bring Christ into those environments
  • Raises up leaders for the three-day weekends.
  • Promotes unity, love, and trust among cursillistas
  • Promotes and models a vital expression of the Cursillo method – especially Group reunions.
  • Seeks, through prayer and study, the guidance and blessing of the Holy Spirit for the Movement as a whole.

The Secretariat also maintains ties with the National Episcopal Cursillo. It is responsible for announcing scheduled Weekends to the wider Cursillo Community and inviting them to offer prayer (palanca) for the Weekend.

Members of the Secretariat should be:

  • in a weekly Group Reunion
  • active in the Fourth Day
  • active in their parish church
  • active in the diocese as a whole

The membership of the Secretariat should be rotated to guard against the development of a “Cursillo Career” mentality and to train new leaders.

The Right Reverend
Dabney Smith
Bishop – Diocese of Southwest Florida
800-992-7699
dsmith@episcopalswfl.org
Father Ryan Wright
Co-Spiritual Director
239-877-1119
fatherwright@gmail.com
Deacon Rosalind Hall
Co-Spiritual Director
941-400-3752
rkfhall3@gmail.com
Kristina Hodge
Lay Director
Term Expires 2021
(c) 803-242-0828
hodgeak@hotmail.com
Sharon Stoll
Communications Chair
Term Expires 2021
harpwings@aol.com
Jackie Bowman
Secretary
jackieb23@live.com
Annie Hunter
Treasurer
813-842-0755
anniemedic813@gmail.com
Term Expires 2021
Candace Newman
Member-at-Large
941-704-6867
designedinterior@tampaby.rr.com
Term Expires 2021
Nancy Kinney
Pre-Cursillo Chair
727-458-4138
Njkinney347@gmail.comTerm Expires 2023

Anna Haeffner|
4th Day
Term Expires 2021
941-961-9913
annachaeffner@gmail.com

David Schutte
Worship Chair
813-925-3168
davids33626@gmail.com
Term Expires 2022
Jack Overton
3 Day Weekend Chair
Term Expires 2020
813-949-1011
joverton3@tampabay.rr.com
Fr. Mario Castro
Hispanic Chair
Term Expires 2023
941-955-4263
mcastro@redeemersarasota.org
Janet Spooner
Palanca – English
941-235-9649
spoonwomanpc@hotmail.com
Willie & Marta Ortiz
Palanca – Spanish
727-475-9296 727-320-2669 (c)
willie19642@hotmail.com
Mary Anders
Registrar – English
727-430-2467
manders200@gmail.com
Anna Valdez
Registrar – Spanish
813-876-0409
annadv11@msn.com
Sherre Henley
Worship & Songbooks
813-477-5446
sherre404@verizon.net
Russell Tuff
Website
239-353-1687
email@russelltuff.com
Karen & Anthony Companaro
Clausura
727-460-9732
c.karen09@yahoo.com
Willie & Marta Ortiz
4th Day Gathering – Spanish
727-475-9296 727-320-2669 (c)
willie19642@hotmail.com
Sharon Stoll
Newsletter Editor
harpwings@aol.com
Chandra Williams
Altar Guild
941-812-1026
channied57@gmail.com
Gussie Haeffner
Logistics
941-378-2252
ghaeffner@comcast.net
Tim MacDonald
Storage
941-321-6376
tmac_84@yahoo.com